Config import from Opnsense ?

This forum is the place to discuss any installation problem or question you might have related to DynFi Firewall.

Moderator: gregober

Post Reply
frescom06
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Nov 2022, 13:34

Config import from Opnsense ?

Post by frescom06 » 03 Nov 2022, 13:38

Hello all,

I currently testing DynFi, and have been using Pfsense and after OpnSense from years.
Since Dynfi is a fork from OpnSense, does it means I could use an OpnSense backup to import the configuration I want into Dynfi ?

Is this possible or not ?

BR,
User avatar
gregober
Posts: 244
Joined: 26 Mar 2019, 15:06

Re: Config import from Opnsense ?

Post by gregober » 03 Nov 2022, 15:06

Hello frescom06,
frescom06 wrote: 03 Nov 2022, 13:38 Hello all,

I currently testing DynFi, and have been using Pfsense and after OpnSense from years.
Since Dynfi is a fork from OpnSense, does it means I could use an OpnSense backup to import the configuration I want into Dynfi ?

Is this possible or not ?
Short answer: you should be able to import your config from OPNsense into DynFi Firewall.

Longer answer: depending on the version of OPNsense you are using and the "plugin" you have enabled on It, some part of the config might be missing / obfuscated. Normally this shouldn't cause major problem… 

We will upgrade to a newer version of OPNsense in the coming months so you should be able to have a larger support from most recent functions (new alias types, and misc other functions).
frescom06
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Nov 2022, 13:34

Re: Config import from Opnsense ?

Post by frescom06 » 03 Nov 2022, 15:24

Tested from Opnsense 22.7.6 to last Dynfi Version : works like a charm ;)

Merci :)
User avatar
gregober
Posts: 244
Joined: 26 Mar 2019, 15:06

Re: Config import from Opnsense ?

Post by gregober » 03 Nov 2022, 23:41

frescom06 wrote: 03 Nov 2022, 15:24 Tested from Opnsense 22.7.6 to last Dynfi Version : works like a charm ;)

Merci :)
Good to know!

Thanks for the feedback. :D
Post Reply